LSM Newswire

Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Ludovico Ensemble presents the 2010 Roman Garnett Concert Series

(BOSTON ĺ─ý DECEMBER 2009) The Ludovico Ensemble, now entering into its seventh season as an Ensemble-in-Residence at The Boston Conservatory, presents the second annual Roman Garnett Concert Series featuring two evenings consisting of a prelude and main event concert of evening length works.
Tickets are $12 general admission, $7 for seniors and free to all students. Tickets can be purchased starting on January 13, 2010 through The Boston Conservatory Box Office: 617-922-9222 or online at
Concert I
Tuesday, January 26, 2010, 6:00pm
Recitations by George Aperghis
with Jennifer Ashe, soprano
Concert II
Tuesday, January 26, 2010, 8:00pm
Aspern Suite by Salvatore Sciarrino
with Aliana de la Guardia, soprano, and Jeffery Means, conductor
Concert III
Saturday, January 30, 2010, 5:00pm
Klavierstł║ke by Karlheinz Stockhausen (selected)
with Karolina Rojahn, piano
Concert IV
Saturday, January 30, 2010, 8:00pm
Strange and Sacred Noise by John Luther Adams
with percussionists Nicholas Tolle, Jeffrey Means, Aya Kaminaguchi, and Tomas Schmidt
Restriction has been the underlying theme in Ludovicoĺ─˘s past for several seasons, and this year the ensemble takes it a bit further: one piece per concert.
ĺ─˙Pieces of this length are often difficult to program because of how much room they take up on a program, but we sought them out for precisely that reason.ĺ─¨ ĺ─ý Nicholas Tolle, Director
The Ludovico Ensemble, founded in 2002 by percussionist Nick Tolle, dually promotes rarely heard works of the European avant-garde as well as works by Boston-area composers. The core of this ensemble consists of four local artists; Pianist Karolina Rojahn, Soprano Aliana de la Guardia, Percussionist Nick Tolle and Cellist Eliza Jacques. In addition to the core members, the ensemble expands as required by the repertoire often inviting accomplished guest artists to participate in the concert series.