LSM Newswire

Tuesday, February 3, 2009

NAC Feb. 12: Debut Series with Shanshan Yao

NAC Orchestraĺ─˘s 2009 Debut Series of recitals and ĺ─˙Exploration of the Concertoĺ─¨ continues on Feb. 12 with violinist Shanshan Yao

Ottawa, Canada ĺ─ý The National Arts Centre Orchestraĺ─˘s Debut Series, which gives talented rising star musicians the opportunity to perform in recital at the NAC, continues on Thursday, February 12 with violinist Shanshan Yao accompanied by pianist Jean Desmarais. The series of one-hour recitals takes place at noon in the NAC Salon. The program consists of Respighiĺ─˘s Sonata for Violin and Piano in B minor, three movements from Dompierreĺ─˘s Les Diableries, and Wieniawskiĺ─˘s Polonaise in D major. Admission is $3, with proceeds going to fund the NACO Bursary.

Each Debut Series noon-hour recital is connected to a Musically Speaking ĺ─˙Exploration of the Concertoĺ─¨ pre-concert talk the evening on the same date. Prior to the National Arts Centre Orchestra concert on February 12 at 8 p.m., Shanshan Yao, together with her mentor William van der Sloot of Calgaryĺ─˘s Mount Royal College Conservatory, will discuss and demonstrate the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto to be performed later than evening by violinist Sarah Chang. Admission to the Pre-Concert Talk hosted by Michel Dozois is free.

As a soloist, Chinese violinist Shanshan Yao has performed with Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, Banff Centre Chamber Orchestra, and Japanĺ─˘s Sendai Philharmonic Orchestra. A violinist since the age of six, she enrolled at Shanghai Conservatory of Music when she was nine. She made her orchestra debut at the age of twelve playing Bruchĺ─˘s Violin Concerto in G minor with the Shanghai Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Ms. Yao is the recipient of numerous awards and prizes including the Calgary Concerto Competition and Morningside Music Bridge Concerto Competition (Canada), and CBC Radioĺ─˘s Up and Coming series. Shanshan Yao is also an avid chamber musician and her piano trio won the second prize in the National Music Festival in Canada. Currently, Shanshan Yao is pursuing her Master of Music Degree at The Juilliard School with Donald Weilersteina and Ronald Copes. She continued her studies in Canada as a full-scholarship student in Mount Royal College Conservatoryĺ─˘s Academy Program under the tutelage of William van der Sloot. Most recently, Ms. Yao received the Bachelor of Music Degree from the prestigious Curtis Institute of Music where she studied with Aaron Rosand.

Recently, she was invited to appear in a special performance for the former Secretary of State Colin Powell at the Eisenhower Fellowships Conference in Philadelphia.

The NAC Debut Series continues with the following recitals and Musically Speaking Pre-Concert ĺ─˙Explorations of the Concertoĺ─¨:


Yina Tong, cello

Jean Desmarais, piano

Paul Lefebvre, host

Salon at 12 noon: Noonhour recital

Salon at 7 p.m.: Exploration of Herbertĺ─˘s Cello Concerto No. 2 with cello teacher John Kadz (Mount Royal College Conservatory).


Maghan Stewart, soprano

Jonathan Estabrooks, baritone

Jean Desmarais, piano

Paul Lefebvre, host

Salon at 12 noon: Noonhour recital

Salon at 7 p.m.: Exploration of the Choral Masterpiece: Brahms Requiem with star soprano-teacher Benita Valente with soprano Maghan Stewart and baritone Jonathan Estabrooks.

Labels: , , ,