LSM Newswire

Saturday, January 17, 2009

Niklas Sivelöv wins the Independent Music Award - Best Contemporary Classical Album


Niklas Sivelöv, of Sweden:

Best Contemporary Classical Album

Malmö, Sweden based Niklas Sivelöv is among a diverse group of independent artists named as Winners of the 8th Annual Independent Music Awards (IMA) program. Niklas was named the winner of the Contemporary Classical Album category. This IMA award was given for his album “Improvisational 1” released by Swedish label Caprice Records, which features improvisations on the music of Carl Michael Bellman.

Virtuoso pianist, composer and teacher Niklas Sivelov studied at the Royal Academy of Music in Stockholm where he made his debut in 1991 as soloist with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra. Mr. Sivelöv gained both critical and public acclaim for his interpretations of a wide range of repertoire, and for his intense and fiery performances. He has been awarded the Swedish Golden Apple Award, a Cannes nomination for best 20th Century recording, several piano competitions, and was Artist in Residence with the Swedish State Broadcasting Company and at Mogens Dahl Institute of Music in Copenhagen.

Mr. Sivelöv’s repertoire extends from Beethoven to Lutoslawski, Ligeti and Skrjabin, and in addition, works by a number of contemporary Swedish composers. Niklas is currently teaching at DKDM in Copenhagen and releasing a new album " Das Wohltemperierte Klavier" by J.S Bach on Caprice Records.

Niklas Sivelöv is represented in North America by On Queue Artists.

The album “Rite” by Unni Lovlid, from Norway, another of On Queue’s artists, was honored by receiving Best Album Photography, by Geir Dokken.

Two other artists represented by On Queue Performing Artists were selected as finalists: Genticorum, from Québec, for World Traditional Album, and Baye Kouyate, from Mali, W. Africa, for World Fusion Album.

A 50-person judging panel consisting of influential artists and industry decision makers including Peter Gabriel, Suzanne Vega, Roger Daltrey, George Jones, Buddy Guy, Keith Urban, James “Blood” Ulmer, Butch Walker, Paquito D’Rivera, Lee Ritenour, Steve Vai, Clint Black, John Patitucci and others determined this year’s Winners in 50+ Music and Design categories.

Reflecting the breadth of the independent music community, this year’s IMA Winners and Finalists were culled from thousands of submissions worldwide, including the U.S.A., Canada, Australia, Cuba, China, Mongolia, Republic of Guinea, Israel, South Africa, Italy, France and Sweden.

“Vox Populi” Voting Determines IMA People’s Choice Winners

As in previous years, thousands of music fans around the world select their favorites and cast their votes at the Vox Populi Jukebox for all Music, Design and Video categories. While this “peoples choice” vote does not affect the Judges’ final decisions, these IMA Vox Populi winners will be announced early next year and benefit from yearlong print, online, broadcast, live performance and event promotions alongside formal Winners.

Vox Populi Voting will remain open through April, 2009.

Please vote for Niklas and Unni Lovlid!

For a complete list of program details and Judges for the 8th Annual IMAs go to:

Labels: ,