LSM Newswire

Thursday, October 16, 2008

Violin Magic with Schubert and Sarasate

Violin Magic with Schubert and Sarasate

Sinfonia Toronto will present a Masterpiece Series concert on Friday, November 14 at 8 pm in the Grace Church on-the-Hill (300 Lonsdale Road). Music Director, Nurhan Arman will conduct.

The concert titled 'Violin Magic' will feature the orchestra's concertmaster Violinist Mary-Elizabeth Brown in Schubert's playful Rondo and Sarasate's virtuoso showpiece 'Gypsy Airs'.

In addition to her position as concertmaster of Sinfonia Toronto, Mary-Elizabeth is currently Associate Concertmaster of Orchestra London Canada as well as Concertmaster of the Youth Orchestra of the Americas and of the Britten-Pears orchestra in Aldeburgh, England. She has played under distinguished conductors such as Kryszstof Penderecki, Lorin Maazel, Benjamin Zander, Carlos Miguel Prieto, Isaac Karabtchevsky and Placido Domingo.

She has been the recipient of numerous awards and grants from the University of Toronto, the City of London, DePaul University, the Hazel Crydermann-Wees Foundation, the Universitą© de Montrą©al, Fonds des Amis de l'Art and the American Suzuki Foundation. She has soloed in masterclasses with Regis Pasqier, Pierre Amoyal, Sylvia Rosenberg, Jean-Jacques Kantorow, Pamela Frank, Pinchas Zukerman and the late Lorand Fenyves, among others. She has appeared with the London Youth Symphony, Orchestra London Canada and the Banff Festival Chamber Orchestra.

As a chamber musician, she has been heard on CBC Radio and at major festivals across Canada including the Scotia Festival, Le Festival Internationale du Domaine Forget and the Banff Summer Arts Festival. She has worked with members of the St. Lawrence, Orford, Artur Leblanc and Brentano Quartets as well as the Gryphon Trio, William Aide and Laurence Lesser. A two-time laureate of the Canadian Music Competition National Finals, she plays on a 1737 Guidantus violin and an F.N. Voirin bow on loan from the Banff Centre for the Arts.

Other works on the program are Janacek's brilliant Suite and Dvorak's romantic Serenade.

There will be a free post-concert reception, giving audience members a chance to meet the orchestra members, conductor and soloists.

Online discount tickets are $35 adult, $27 senior, $7 student (16-29) and can be purchased at or at regular price by phone 905-825-8477 or at the door.

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment


Create a Link

<< Home