LSM Newswire

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Conductor Gregory Vajda Joins Pianist William Wolfram

Classic Landmarks Masters

Pianist William Wolfram joins

Conductor Gregory Vajda

For weekend performances straight from

The Russian Heart

October 17th- 7:30pm, October 18th- 8:00pm

Edmonton, AB ’Ķ The Edmonton Symphony Orchestra (ESO) is pleased to welcome conductor Gregory Vajda (pronounced VOID-ah) for a program that features Russian masterpieces. Hailed as a ’Äúyoung titan’Äù by the Montrˆ©al Gazette after conducting the Montrˆ©al Symphony, Maestro Vajda has fast become one of the most sought-after conductors on the international scene. He makes his ESO debut alongside pianist William Wolfram for Rachmaninoff’Äôs Piano Concerto No. 1 in F-sharp minor. The weekend performances also include Tchaikovsky’Äôs Symphony No. 4 in F minor and Kodˆ°ly’Äôs Dances of Marosszek.

Ticket prices for this performance range from $20-$69 (agency fees apply). Student and senior $20 rush tickets are on sale, subject to availability, two hours prior to performance time. Afterthoughts will feature conductor Gregory Vajda and pianist William Wolfram. Saturday evening’Äôs 7:15 pm Symphony Prelude features conductor/pianist Michael Massey.

The next performance of The Masters takes place on November 15th & 16th with conductor Bill Eddins and violinist Livia Sohn.

This series is generously supported by Classic Landmarks Master Builder

Media Sponsor: CKUA Radio Network

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment


Create a Link

<< Home