LSM Newswire

Monday, May 26, 2008

Award Announcement 2008: Sir Ernest MacMillan Memorial Foundation

The Sir Ernest MacMillan Memorial Foundation is pleased to announce that Meghan Forsyth of Toronto has been awarded $12,000 as the recipient of the Foundation's 2008 advanced music study award. The 2008 award was offered in the area of research in Canadian music and was open to candidates from across Canada under thirty years of age.

The Sir Ernest MacMillan Memorial Foundation Award is intended to provide significant career development opportunities to a young Canadian musician or music scholar, typically at the graduate level. The recipient is chosen through a competitive process that is national in scope. The award, $12,000 in recent years, is offered annually or biennially.

Reflecting Sir Ernest's wide-ranging endeavours, the award is offered in different areas of music, areas that are not funded appreciably from other sources. Awards have been offered in composition, conducting, instrumental and vocal performance, pedagogy, early music, chamber music, collaborative piano and music education.

Twenty-four awards have been given since 1985, and past winners include: Bernard Labadie, James Sommerville, Marc-Andrą© Doran, The Tokai String Quartet, The Lloyd-Carr Harris String Quartet, Jens Lindemann, Jonathan Oldengarm, Robert May, Meredith Hall.

More information on the MacMillan Foundation Award is provided at Sir Ernest MacMillan Memorial Foundation Award


Dr. Robin Elliott, 416 978-4798,

Labels: ,


Post a Comment


Create a Link

<< Home