LSM Newswire

Tuesday, June 3, 2008

Bruckner's Ninth performed by NACO and Pinchas Zukerman

The NAC Orchestra performs Brucknerĺ─˘s Ninth for the first time, and Yefim Bronfman plays Mozart in concerts led by Pinchas Zukerman on June 12-13

Ottawa, Canada ĺ─ý Music Director Pinchas Zukerman will lead the National Arts Centre Orchestra through its first-ever performance of Brucknerĺ─˘s Symphony No. 9 in the final Bostonian Bravo Series concerts of the season on Thursday, June 12 and Friday, June 13 at 20:00 in Southam Hall. The concerts open with world-renowned pianist Yefim Bronfman performing Mozartĺ─˘s Piano Concerto No. 22 with its richly orchestrated textures and heavenly Andante. Then Brucknerĺ─˘s final symphonic masterpiece rises sublimely like the spires of a grand cathedral towards God, to whom the composer dedicated it.

Both concerts include free Musically Speaking Pre-Concert Talks at 19:00 with CBC Radio Executive Music Producer Jill LaForty entitled ĺ─˙Brucknerĺ─˘s unfinished finaleĺ─¨. Brucknerĺ─˘s Ninth is also the final episode in the online ĺ─˙Exploration of the Symphonyĺ─¨, a season-long series of discussions with Jean-Jacques Van Vlasselaer hosted in separate French and English versions by assistant principal double bass Marjolaine Fournier.

The expanded orchestra for Brucknerĺ─˘s Ninth Symphony is made possible in part through the Friends of the NAC Orchestra Kilpatrick Fund. These concerts also take place during the final week of the NACĺ─˘s Institute of Orchestral Studies (IOS), which has offered the opportunity for select string students to rehearse and perform with the NAC Orchestra during five separate weeks this season. The IOS is made possible by donors to the National Arts Centre Foundation, including Richard Li, who in 2006 gave the NAC Foundation $1 million ĺ─ý the largest one-time gift in its history.

Of Mozartĺ─˘s Piano Concerto No. 22, Yefim Bronfman says: ĺ─˙When I heard this piece for the first time I was about 15 years old. I was stunned by its beauty and grandeur, operatic qualities and very unusual structure. It has one of the most profound slow movements ever written. Perhaps it is one of the greatest concertos. One can hear the influence of Mozartĺ─˘s K.482 on Beethovenĺ─˘s Emperor Concerto.ĺ─¨

Yefim Bronfman is widely regarded as one of the most talented virtuoso pianists performing today. His commanding technique and exceptional lyrical gifts have won him consistent critical acclaim and enthusiastic audiences worldwide, whether for his solo recitals, his chamber music performances, his prestigious orchestral engagements or his rapidly growing catalogue of recordings. As a ĺ─˙Perspectivesĺ─¨ artist at Carnegie Hall this season, Mr. Bronfman has partnered with some of the worldĺ─˘s greatest orchestras including the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and Orpheus Chamber Orchestra. Last fall he toured Japan with the Kirov Orchestra, and this spring he continues a recital tour through the U.S.A and abroad.

Tickets for these Bostonian Bravo Series concerts on Thursday, June 12 and Friday, June 13 at 20:00 are on sale now at $19.00, $29.00, $49.00, $59.00, $69.00 with box seats at $83.00 (GST and Facility Fee included) at the NAC Box Office (Monday to Saturday from 10:00 to 21:00), and through Ticketmaster (with surcharges) at 613-755-1111. Ticketmaster may also be accessed through the NACĺ─˘s website at

Half-price tickets for students in all sections of the hall are on sale in person at the NAC Box Office upon presentation of a valid student ID card. Same-day Live Rush tickets (subject to availability) for full-time students (aged 13 to 29) are $10 at the NAC Box Office between 14:00 and 18:00 on the day of performance only, upon presentation of a valid Live Rush card.

Groups of 10 and more save 15% to 20% off the regular price of tickets to NAC Music, Theatre and Dance performances. To reserve your seats call 613-947-7000 ext. 384 or email

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment


Create a Link

<< Home