LSM Newswire

Wednesday, February 4, 2009

2009 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Award Recipients Announced


Honorees to Be Recognized at ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame Ceremonies
on June 16 in NYC

New York, NY, February 4, 2009: ASCAP Foundation President Marilyn
Bergman has announced the recipients of the 2009 ASCAP Foundation Young
Jazz Composer Awards. This program, established in 2002, was created to
encourage gifted jazz composers from throughout the United States. The
recipients, who range in age from 15 to 29, are selected through a juried
national competition. They receive cash awards, and will be recognized at
the annual ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame ceremony on June 16, 2009, which will
be held in The Allen Room, Frederick P. Rose Hall, Home of Jazz at Lincoln
Center on Broadway at 60th Street, New York City.

Commenting on the awards, Marilyn Bergman said, "The young jazz creators
recognized through this program represent the future of this uniquely
American art form. We congratulate the recipients and extend thanks to the
dedicated panel of ASCAP composers who selected the honorees."

The Young Jazz Composer Awards are in their fourth year of sponsorship by
Gibson Foundation, the philanthropic division of musical giant Gibson Guitar
Corp. The Gibson Foundation supports The ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz
Composer Awards in fulfillment of its commitment to educational excellence
through music and the arts.

This year's ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Award recipients, ages
18-29, are: Mike Baggetta, 29 (Brooklyn, NY); Tyler Gilmore, 26 (Denver,
CO); Victor Gould, 21 (Boston, MA); Aaron Grad, 28 (Takoma Park, MD); Nick
Grondin, 26 (Boston, MA); Alex Heitlinger, 28 (Brooklyn, NY); Armand Hirsch,
18 (New York, NY): Matt Holman, 26 (New York, NY); Remy Le Boeuf, 22
(New York, NY); Ben Markley, 27 (Longmont, CO); Kendall R. Moore, 22
(Miami, FL); Rob Mosher, 29 (Brooklyn, NY); Daniel Ori, 29 (New York, NY);
Travis Reuter, 22 (Brooklyn, NY); Albert Rivera, 25 (Bronx, NY); Sam
Sadigursky, 29 (Brooklyn, NY); Nikos Syropoulos, 20 (Los Angeles, CA);
Matthew Vashlishan, 26 (Coral Gables, FL); Justin Vasquez, 26 (Austin, TX);
and Brandon Wright, 26 (Brooklyn, NY).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composers, ages 15 to 17, are:
Lucas Apostoleris, 15 (MA); Phillip Golub, 15 (CA); Nicolas Hetko, 17 (NY);
David Lantz, 17 (PA); Caili O'Doherty, 16 (OR) and Keshav Singh, 17 (CA).

Composers receiving Honorable Mention are: Benj Bellon, 17 (CA); Michael
Collins, 29 (Tempe, AZ); Zaccai Curtis, 27 (Bronx, NY); Douglas Detrick, 25,
(Eugene, OR); James Hirschfeld, 27, (New York, NY); Pascal Le Boeuf, 22
(Santa Cruz, CA); Chase Morrin, 15 (CA); Joshua Moshier, 22 (Evanston, IL);
Matt Savage, 16, (NH); Erica Seguine, 21 (Rochester, NY); and Stephen W.
(Red) Wierenga, 29, (New York, NY).

The ASCAP composer/judges for the 2009 competition were: John Fedchock,
Jay Leonhart, and Phil Markowitz.

About Gibson Foundation
Founded in 2002 as the philanthropic division of Gibson Guitar, the Gibson
Foundation is committed to making the world a better place for children
through its own initiatives and by its support of other non-profit organizations
that advance music and the arts, health and welfare, education, and
environmental causes. The impact of the support provided by the Gibson
Foundation benefits millions of people each year.

About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization
dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their
development through music education and talent development programs.
Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards,
recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for
senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by
contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the
United States.

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment


Create a Link

<< Home