LSM Newswire

Tuesday, February 5, 2008

NACO, Feb. 6-7: Natasha Paremski steps in for an ailing Boris Berezovsky

National Arts Centre Orchestra / News Release

February 5, 2008

For immediate release

Russian pianist Natasha Paremski steps in for an ailing Boris Berezovsky at the NAC Orchestra Tchaikovsky Celebration on February 6-7

Ottawa (Canada) ’Äì Russian pianist Natasha Paremski, winner of the 2006 Gilmore Young Artist Award, will replace Boris Berezovsky in Bostonian Bravo Series concerts on Wednesday, February 6 and Thursday, February 7 at 20:00 in the NAC’Äôs Southam Hall after Berezovsky was obliged to withdraw at the last minute due to illness. The 20-year-old Natasha Paremski will perform Tchaikovsky’Äôs Piano Concerto No. 1 as scheduled, with its dazzling pyrotechnics and soaring melodies. Norwegian conductor Arild Remmereit leads this Tchaikovsky Celebration, opening the programme with orchestral selections from Tchaikovsky’Äôs opera Eugene Onegin and concluding it with the composer’Äôs rarely heard Symphony No. 3, a sparkling gem nicknamed the ’ÄúPolish’Äù Symphony for its dance rhythms, melodies and evocative colouring.

These concerts include Musically Speaking pre-concert talks in French at 19:00 entitled ’ÄúTchaˆØkovski en trois temps’Äù given by music critic Jean-Jacques Van Vlasselaer.

With an astonishing musical sensibility and intellectual curiosity alongside her flawless technique, 20-year-old pianist Natasha Paremski has established herself as an artist of rare breadth and appeal. She continues to generate excitement from all corners as she wins over audiences with her dynamic performances. In the 2006-2007 season, Natasha appeared with orchestras and in recital across the US and Europe. In the summer of 2007, she performed Rachmaninov’Äôs Second Concerto as a last-minute replacement for the opening nights of both the Caramoor Festival in New York and the Bravo! Vail Valley Festival in Colorado, four days apart. Her past engagements include performances with the San Francisco Symphony, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Baltimore Symphony, Colorado Symphony, Houston Symphony, New York Youth Symphony at Carnegie Hall, San Diego Symphony, the Tonhalle Orchestra in Zurich, and Royal Scottish National Orchestra. Natasha has also given recitals at London’Äôs Wigmore Hall, the Auditorium du Louvre in Paris, the Schloss Elmau and Verbier festivals, and on the Rising Stars Series of Gilmore and Ravinia.

Born in Moscow, Natasha began her piano studies at the age of 4 with Nina Malikova at the Andreyev School of Music there. In 1995 she emigrated with her family to the United States and became a US citizen in 2001. She studied at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music before moving to New York to study at Mannes College of Music. Her growing list of awards includes the 2006 Gilmore Young Artist Award, top prize in the 2002 Bronislaw Kaper Awards sponsored by the Los Angeles Philharmonic; top prize in the Young Artists in Carnegie Hall 2000 International Piano Festival, and many others.

Tickets for these Bostonian Bravo Series concerts on Wednesday, February 6 and Thursday, February 7 at 20:00 are on sale now at $19.00, $29.00, $49.00, $59.00, $69.00 with box seats at $83.00 (GST and Facility Fee included) at the NAC Box Office (Monday to Saturday from 10:00 to 21:00), and through Ticketmaster (with surcharges) at 613-755-1111. Ticketmaster may also be accessed through the NAC’Äôs website at

Half-price tickets for students in all sections of the hall are on sale in person at the NAC Box Office upon presentation of a valid student ID card. Same-day Live Rush tickets (subject to availability) for full-time students (aged 13 to 29) are $10 at the NAC Box Office between 14:00 and 18:00 on the day of performance only, upon presentation of a valid Live Rush card.

Groups of 10 and more save 15% to 20% off the regular price of tickets to NAC Music, Theatre and Dance performances. To reserve your seats call 613-947-7000 ext. 384 or email


Jane Morris

Communications Officer/Agente de communication

National Arts Centre Orchestra/Orchestre du Centre national des Arts

Telephone/Tˆ©lˆ©phone: 613-947-7000 x 335

Fax: 613-996-2828



Post a Comment


Create a Link

<< Home