LSM Newswire

Sunday, March 21, 2010

Alexisonfire, Robert Charlebois, Les Claypool to perform at the 6th annual Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala on March 28

TORONTO, March 9 /CNW/ - The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame/Le Panthˆ©on des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens (CSHF/PACC) announced today that Alexisonfire, Robert Charlebois, former Primus frontman Les Claypool, Pierre Flynn and Dumas are among the artists who will perform at the 6th annual Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala, taking place on March 28 at The Toronto Centre for the Arts. This outstanding roster of talent, along with host Gregory Charles, will pay tribute to this year's CSHF inductees including Rush and Robert Charlebois. Tickets for the CSHF Gala, starting at $110.00, are on sale and available through Ticketmaster at 416-870-8000 or on-line at,, or in person at the TCA box office.

The 6th annual CSHF gala welcomes a diverse line-up of talent who will perform renditions of this year's inducted songs. Alexisonfire will perform 'Closer to the Heart' (Rush); Les Claypool performs 'Spirit of Radio' (Rush), YouTube phenom Jacob Moon presents his rendition of 'Subdivisions' (Rush) and Quebec superstar Robert Charlebois will perform his classic song 'Ordinaire' (Robert Charlebois, Mouffe, Pierre Nadeau).

As in past years, the CSHF gala will also include some inspired collaborations of inducted songs: Lily Frost and Sean Cullen will perform 'Come Josephine in My Flying Machine' (Alfred Bryan, Fred Fisher); Dumas along with Catherine Durand will perform 'Lindberg' (Robert Charlebois, Claude Pˆ©loquin); and Pierre Flynn will be joined by Mara Tremblay in a performance of 'Fu Man Chu' (Robert Charlebois, Claude Gagnon, Marcel Sabourin);

Also confirmed to appear at this year's Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala are: DJ Champion ('J'entends frapper' by Michel Pagliaro), Le Vent du Nord ('Des mitaines pas de pouce' by Ovila Lˆ©garˆ©) and Marie-Jo Thˆ©rio ('Deux enfants du meme age' by Germaine Dugas).

The 2010 CSHF inductees include 11 influential songwriters, 16 timeless songs and two Legacy Award recipients. The CSHF will bestow the Frank Davies Legacy Award, named after the founder of the CSHF/PACC, to recorded-sound archivist Edward B. Moogk. The CMPA (Canadian Music Publishers Association) Legacy award will be given to Quebec impresario, producer and agent Guy Latraverse.

The 6th annual CSHF Gala, hosted by Gregory Charles, will once again be broadcast by broadcast partner CBC on Radio 2 on Monday, March 29 at 7:00 p.m. across the country as a special presentation of Canada Live and Espace Musique at 4:00 p.m.

The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF) /Le panthˆ©on des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens (PACC) is a bilingual, a-political, non-profit organization, which is a partnership of the Canadian Music Publishers Association (CMPA) and the Songwriters Association of Canada (SAC) with the assistance of the Sociˆ©tˆ© professionnelle des auteurs et des compositeurs du Quˆ©bec (SPACQ). The CSHF's generous core-funding partners are: the CMPA, the SAC, the Toronto Centre for the Arts, the Foundation Assisting Canadian Talent on Recordings (FACTOR), SOCAN, Astral Media, and the Canadian Musical Reproduction Rights Agency Ltd. The CSHF acknowledges the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada's private radio broadcasters.

For further information, bios and photos, please visit


Post a Comment


Create a Link

<< Home