LSM Newswire

Monday, December 14, 2009

The Cleveland Orchestra presents second ĺ─˙Musically Speakingĺ─¨ concert of the season, focusing on Tchaikovskyĺ─˘s Symphony No. 4, at Severance Hall on Jan

Narrator Gerard McBurney

Beyond the ScoreČĂ program narrated by Gerard McBurney illuminates music through multimedia approach

Dutch conductor Jaap van Zweden makes his Cleveland Orchestra debut with week of subscription concerts

CLEVELAND, December 10, 2009 ĺ─ý The Cleveland Orchestra will perform the second concert in its ĺ─˙Musically Speakingĺ─¨ series of Sunday afternoon concerts on January 10, at 3:00 p.m. Jaap van Zweden (pronounced YAP van ZVAY-den), music director of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, will conduct the program, which focuses on a single work: Tchaikovskyĺ─˘s Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Opus 36. Mr. van Zweden makes his Cleveland Orchestra debut with concerts on January 7, 8, 9, and 10.

This Musically Speaking concert will be a Beyond the ScoreČĂ event, a series launched by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra during the 2005-06 season. As written and created by the CSOĺ─˘s creative director, Gerard McBurney, Beyond the ScoreČĂ shares the illuminating stories found ĺ─˙insideĺ─¨ the music, through narrative and video, calling on the orchestra to provide live musical examples that illustrate the structure of each composition. Mr. McBurney has commented, ĺ─˙Above all else, I want to give listeners a sense that this music is there for them and that there are thousands of different ways to listen to it.ĺ─¨

The first half of the January 10 program will feature a multi-media presentation of Tchaikovskyĺ─˘s Symphony No. 4, allowing the audience to learn the workĺ─˘s rich context in history, how it fits into the composerĺ─˘s output of works, and the details of the composerĺ─˘s life that influenced its creation. When Gerard McBurney presented this program in Chicago one year ago, The Chicago Tribune wrote that his exploration ĺ─˙took apart Tchaikovskyĺ─˘s music movement by movement, theme by theme, examining it in light of the composerĺ─˘s melancholy personality, his repressed homosexuality, his brief and disastrous marriage and, above all, his deeply rooted belief in fateĺ─˘s implacable hold over human existence.ĺ─¨

Gerard McBurney will appear as narrator at this concert, in his Cleveland Orchestra debut. Actor Terence Cranendonk will read from Tchaikovskyĺ─˘s letters. Mr. Cranendonk made his Cleveland Orchestra debut in the first Musically Speaking concert of the season, on November 29. He has appeared with the Cleveland Play House, Cleveland Public Theatre, and New World Performance Lab. After intermission, the Orchestra will perform the Symphony No. 4 in its entirety, straight through. Listeners are invited to stay after the concert for a question-and-answer session with guest artists and musicians. Click here to watch or download Beyond the ScoreČĂ on Tchaikovskyĺ─˘s Symphony No. 4.

The third and final ĺ─˙Musically Speakingĺ─¨ concert of the 2009-10 season will take place on Sunday, March 7, 2010 (ĺ─˙Wolfgang ĺ─ý Mozart the Manĺ─¨).


Another aspect of the ĺ─˙Musically Speakingĺ─¨ series, which The Cleveland Orchestra inaugurated during its 2005-06 season, is the Prelude Concert of chamber music performances given by members of the Orchestra in Reinberger Chamber Hall beginning at 2:00 p.m. These extremely popular programs highlight interesting connections with the music on the program for that afternoonĺ─˘s Orchestra concert. The January 10 Prelude Concert features Chul-In Park, Sae Shiragami, Patrick Connolly, Joanna Patterson, Paul Kushious, and David Alan Harrell performing the first movement (Allegro con spirito) from Tchaikovskyĺ─˘s Souvenir de Florence, Opus 70 (for two violins, two violas, and two cellos), and Peter Otto and Eli Matthews performing Eugł«ne Ysał°eĺ─˘s Sonata for Two Violins, Opus posthumous.



Post a Comment


Create a Link

<< Home